Time Lock is designed for the purpose of document access control in a multi-user environment. This ensures that changes made to a document on one user is not replaced by another user’s. This article explains how Time Lock works in ProLine.

Time Lock in Action

Time Lock only applies to existing documents, meaning that there is no time limit when user is creating a new document.

When user opens a document for editing or updating, a Lock will be created for the user. By default, the user who obtains the Lock have 30 minutes to make changes to the document.

Lock expired, saving changes is not guaranteed

To request for additional time, user will need to save the document and re-open the document. If the lock expires, there is no guarantee that document can be saved as other users may place a lock to the document.

If no other locks exists even when lock has expired, user will still be able to save.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *